2019 BDO Lakeside World Professional Championships Preview

2019 BDO Lakeside World Professional Championships Preview

04 January, 2019

The 42nd BDO World Professional Darts Championships takes place from Saturday 5th to Sunday 13th January 2019 at the Lakeside Country Club.

Reigning champion Glen Durrant will be looking to become the first man to lift three consecutive BDO World Championship titles since Eric Bristow in 1986. Meanwhile, Ladies Champion Lisa Ashton is gunning for a fifth BDO World Championship title as she defends her crown.

Winmau’s former two-time World Champion Scotty “2 Hotty” Waites enters the tournament as number 9 seed and faces Belgian Jeffrey van Egdom in his opening round. Fellow World Champion Scott Mitchell also looks to regain his crown, as the 2015 winner faces the victor of stablemate Oliver Ferenc and Ryan Hogarth’s clash.

“Captain America” Jim Widmayer makes his first appearance at Lakeside since his run to the last 16 in 2015. Widmayer enters the opening round against Nigel Heydon, with Richard Veenstra awaiting the winner of that contest.

Defending Champion Durrant could face a rematch of the 2018 Winmau World Masters final in his first game. Duzza will play the winner of Adam Smith-Neale and Mark McGrath. It was Smith-Neale who came out the winner in their last clash and the reigning World Master has overcome a freak leg injury to ensure he plays at the iconic venue.

Ten-time BDO Ladies World Champion Trina Gulliver MBE is on a quest for a magnificent 11th title and will begin her tournament against Poland’s Podgorska in her first round. Reigning champion Ashton will play on the opening session of the tournament against Japan’s Mikuru Suzkuki.

All the action is set to be broadcast live on Eurosport and Quest in the UK, Netherlands and Australia. Rest of the World viewers can tune in to all the action via the BDO Youtube Channel (

2019 BDO Lakeside World Professional Darts Championships Schedule

Saturday 5th January

Afternoon session:

13:00 - Mark McGeeney (ENG) v Derk Telnekes (NED)

14.15 - Jim Widmayer (USA) v Nigel Heydon (ENG)

15.30 - Lisa Ashton (ENG) v Mikuru Suzuki (JPN)

16.00 - Martin Phillips (WAL) v Conan Whitehead (ENG)

Evening session:

19:00 - Paul Hogan (ENG) v Wesley Newton (ENG)

20.15 - Sharon Prins (NED) v Roz Bulmer (ENG)

20.45 - Mal Cuming (AUS) v Justin Thompson (AUS)

22.00 - Wesley Harms (NED) v Tony O'Shea (ENG)

Sunday 6th January

Afternoon session:

13:00 - Scott Waites (ENG) v Jeffrey Van Egdom (BEL)

14.15 - Brian Lokken (DEN) v Krzysztof Kciuk (POL)

15.30 - Deta Hedman (ENG) v Maria O'Brien (ENG)

16.00 - Richard Veenstra (NED) v Jim Widmayer (USA)/Nigel Heydon (ENG)

Evening session:

19:00 - Roger Janssen (BEL) v Wouter Vaes (NED)

20.15 - Fallon Sherrock (ENG) v Corrine Hammond (AUS)

20.45 - Mark McGrath (NZL) v Adam Smith-Neale (ENG)

22.00 - Wayne Warren (WAL) v Mark Layton (WAL)

Monday 7th January

Afternoon session:

13:00 - David Cameron (CAN) v Andy Hamilton (ENG)

14.15 - Oliver Ferenc (SBR) v Ryan Hogarth (SCO)

15.30 - Willem Mandigers (NED) v Paul Hogan (ENG)/Wesley Newton (ENG)

Evening session:

19:00 - Michael Unterbuchner (GER) v Mal Cuming (AUS)/Justin Thompson (AUS)

20.15 - Anastasia Dobromyslova (RUS) v Laura Turner (ENG)

20.45 - Jim Williams (WAL) v Roger Janssen – (BEL)/Wouter Vaes (NED)

22.00 - Daniel Day (ENG) v Dean Reynolds (WAL)

Tuesday 8th January

Afternoon session:

13:00 - Dave Parletti (ENG) v Brian Lokken (DEN)/Krzysztof Kciuk (POL)

14.15 - Scott Mitchell (ENG) v Oliver Ferenc  (SRB)/Ryan Hogarth (SCO)

15.30 - Aileen De Graaf (NED) v Paula Jacklin (ENG)

16.00 - Ross Montgomery (SCO) v Scott Baker (ENG)

Evening session:

19:00 - Glen Durrant (ENG) v Mark McGrath (NZL)/Adam Smith-Neale (ENG)

20.15 - Lorraine Winstanley (ENG) v Casey Gallagher (ENG)

20.45 - Chris Landman (NED) v Kyle McKinstry (NIR)

22.00 - Gary Robson (ENG) v David Cameron (CAN)/Andy Hamilton (ENG)

Wednesday 9th January

Afternoon session:

14.45 - Trina Gulliver MBE (ENG) v Karolina Podgorska (POL)

Prev Next
Please wait...