2020 Ladbrokes Darts Masters Preview

2020 Ladbrokes Darts Masters Preview

31 January, 2020

World no.1 Michael van Gerwen begins his quest for a sixth successive Ladbrokes Masters title at Marshall Arena Milton Keynes this weekend.

Two-time major winner Daryl Gurney will also compete at the year’s curtain-raiser whilst Australian darts icon Simon Whitlock will make his fifith appearance at the tournament.

Michael van Gerwen begins his quest for a sixth successive title against Jonny Clayton on the opening night.

The opening televised event of the year will take place from January 31 - February 2 with the new-look top 16 following the World Championship competing across three days.

The action will be broadcast live on ITV4 in the UK, through the PDC's worldwide broadcast partners including DAZN and RTL7 and on PDCTV for Rest of the World Subscribers.

Since the tournament moved to Milton Keynes in 2015, Van Gerwen is yet to taste defeat on the Masters stage and the Dutchman will look to continue that run against Welsh number two Clayton on Friday's opening night.

"This tournament is an important one because it sets the tone for the rest of the year, it gives me a chance to put out a message," said Van Gerwen.

"It's not the first time I've come into the start of the year not being World Champion and I come back strong, people know that.

"I'm looking forward to getting back up on the big stage and performing in front of a great crowd. Hopefully I will be walking away with the title again.

"You always have to set yourself new targets and I'm going to give everything this year."

“Superchin” Daryl Gurney will face Dave Chisnall in his first match-up in MK as he looks to claim his first win at the Masters.

Simon Whitlock’s 5th consecutive appearance at the Masters sees him face Gerwyn Price in a re-match of their World Championship last 16 clash.

The tournament will begin with a meeting between Michael Smith and Mensur Suljovic, while former World Champions Rob Cross and Adrian Lewis also collide on night one.

The opening night of action will also see two-time World Championship semi-finalist Nathan Aspinall make his Masters debut against 2014 champion James Wade.

Aspinall's success over the last 18 months has seen him fly up to eighth place on the PDC Order of Merit, and the 28-year-old is out to further cement his place among the sport's elite this year.

Saturday's second night of first round action will see Peter Wright announced onto the stage as World Champion for the first time as he begins his bid for a first Masters title against Joe Cullen.

The winners will advance to Sunday's final day of action which will see the quarter-finals take place in the afternoon session, before the semi-finals and final in the evening.

2020 Ladbrokes Masters
Schedule of Play
Friday January 31 (1900 GMT)
First Round

Michael Smith v Mensur Suljovic
Nathan Aspinall v James Wade
Michael van Gerwen v Jonny Clayton
Rob Cross v Adrian Lewis

Saturday February 1 (1900 GMT)
First Round

Daryl Gurney v Dave Chisnall
Gary Anderson v Ian White
Peter Wright v Joe Cullen
Gerwyn Price v Simon Whitlock

Sunday February 2
Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)

Cross/Lewis v Smith/Suljovic
Van Gerwen/Clayton v Aspinall/Wade
Price/Whitlock v Anderson/White
Wright/Cullen v Gurney/Chisnall

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

Prev Next
Please wait...