Whitlock Wins Oceanic Masters

Whitlock Wins Oceanic Masters

17 August, 2010

Winmau sponsored SIMON WHITLOCK has won his second DPA Oceanic Masters title, defeating Shane Tichowtisch 6-5 in the final.

Whitlock followed up his previous victory in the tournament, in 2002, by edging out his fellow countryman in Sunday^s final to claim the $2,000 first prize.

The World Darts Championship finalist enjoyed a successful return to action on home soil at the Illawarra Yacht Club in New South Wales, with his deciding-leg win over Tichowitsch following up some other fine victories.

He saved his best, though, for last to take out a 12-darter in the 11th leg, when with the scores tied at five-all he threw 100, 180 and 180 against the throw to leave 41, which he checked out for victory.

Whitlock had defeated Craig Prizeman 6-2 in the semi-finals, dropped just one leg against New Zealand^s Phil Hazell in the quarter-finals and also defeated Bill Aitken and Jeremy Fagg in the latter stages.

Tichowitsch, who took home $900 as runner-up, defeated another former Oceanic Masters winner, Barry Jouannet, 6-2 in the semis.

He also defeated Paul Nicholson 6-3 in the last 16, as well as seeing off Wayne Weening and Jerry Weyman.

DPA Order of Merit leader Rob Modra was amongst the quarter-final losers, alongside Ian Dargan.

The Oceanic Masters preceded a week of events in Australia which will culminate next Sunday in the PDC ranked Australian Open Players Championship, with play commencing on Wednesday at the Revesby Workers Club, NSW in the two-day Linddales Fours event, which will be followed by two Australian Grand Prix events.

Prev Next
Please wait...