Daryl Gurney Claims Second PDC Major Title in Minehead

Daryl Gurney Claims Second PDC Major Title in Minehead

26 November, 2018

Daryl Gurney defeated Michael van Gerwen 11-9 to claim the 2018 Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals title in Minehead last night.

Gurney hit a spectacular 85 finish on the bullseye to win, which sparked huge celebrations from the Northern Irishman, winning his second PDC Major crown.

The contest between Superchin and the World Number one was tight throughout, with the first break of throw coming in leg 13 in favour of MvG. Gurney showed great mettle and composure to break straight back and the pair saw themselves level at 9-9.

Gurney pinned double 16 to hold throw and put himself within a leg of the title before the bullseye finish sealed the win.

Earlier in the day Gurney had defeated Chris Dobey 10-2 and Danny Noppert 11-3 in convincing fashion to book his place in the final. MvG himself put Steve Lennon to the sword with a 10-3 win before edging a superb encounter with Gary Anderson 11-9.

Dimitri van den Bergh also retained his PDC World Youth Championship title in Minehead, defeating German Martin Schindler 6-3 in the final.

Focus now turns to the William Hill World Darts Championship that begins ons 13th December at the iconic Alexandra Palace. The final three places will be confirmed at the PDC Tour Card Holders’ Qualifier in Milton Keynes today. Once these have been completed, the draw for the World Darts Championship will be made at approximate 5pm - Live on Sky Sports News.

Players Championship Finals Results


Daryl Gurney 10-2 Chris Dobey

Danny Noppert 10-7 Stephen Bunting

Gary Anderson 10-4 Jonny Clayton

Michael van Gerwen 10-3 Steve Lennon


Daryl Gurney 11-3 Danny Noppert

Michael van Gerwen 11-9 Gary Anderson


Daryl Gurney 11-9 Michael van Gerwen

Prev Next
Please wait...