Two-time World Champion Waites sets up Veenstra Clash

Two-time World Champion Waites sets up Veenstra Clash

07 January, 2019

Winmau’s two-time BDO Lakeside World Champion Scott Waites eased his way into the last-16 at Lakeside with a 3-1 win over Jeffrey van Egdom. Scott 2 Hotty looked cool, calm and collected throughout the game taking the opening set 3-0. The Belgian debutant showed fight however to level the contest at 1 set each before Waites kicked his game into another gear and closed the match out.

Elsewhere over the weekend there was a shock exit for reigning Champion Lisa Ashton as she crashed out to a 2-0 loss at the hands of Japan’s Mikuru Suzuki. The Lancashire Rose never got firing and Suzuki punished her with a fine display on Saturday afternoon.

Mark McGeeney, Nigel Heydon and Conan Whitehead all progressed into the Men’s last 16 in the same session with wins over Derk Telnekes, Jim Widmayer and Martin Phillips respectively.

Paul Hogan opening Saturday evening’s session with a strong performance over Wes Newton, triumphing 3-1. Justin Thompson defeated fellow Aussie Mal Cuming in a 3-0 whitewash whilst former two-time Lakeside semi-finalist Wes Harms defeated Tony O’Shea 3-2.

Maria O’Brien caused another shock in the Ladies competition as Deta Hedman bombed out to her fellow English thrower 2-0. Sharon Prins also earned a spot in the next round of the Ladies tournament with a 2-0 win over Roz Bulmer.

Richard Veenstra booked a highly-anticipated match-up with Scott Waites after he defeated Nigel Heydon 3-2 and Poland’s Krzysztof Kciuk defeated Brian Lokken 3-1. Welshman Wayne Warren hit just shy of a 100 average in his opening match against closed friend Mark Layton, posting a 3-0 victory.

Mark McGrath defeated Adam Smith-Neale 3-0, with the latter taking to the stage on crutches after a shock leg injury in the build-up to the tournament. Roger Janssen will see himself into the next round after a whitewash of Wouter Vaes and Fallon Sherrock is set to play Maria O’Brien after a 2-0 victory over Corrine Hammond.

Full Results available from the BDO:

Saturday 5th January

Afternoon Session

Mark McGeeney (ENG) 3 Vs 1 Derk Telnekes (NED)

Jim Widmayer (USA) 2 Vs 3 Nigel Heydon (ENG)

Lisa Ashton (ENG) 0 Vs 2 Mikuru Suzuki (JPN)

Martin Phillips (WAL) 2 Vs 3 Conan Whitehead (ENG)

Evening Session


Paul Hogan (ENG) 3 Vs 1 Wez Newton (ENG)

Sharon Prins (NED) 2 vs 0 Roz Bulmer (ENG)

Mal Cuming (AUS) 0 Vs 3 Justin Thompson (AUS)

Wesley Harms (NED) 3 Vs 2 Tony O’Shea (ENG)

Sunday 6th January

Afternoon Session

Scott Waites (ENG) 3 Vs 1 Jeffrey van Egdom (NED)

Brian Lokken (DEN) 1 vs 3 Krzysztof Kciuk (POL)

Deta Hedman (ENG) 0 vs 2 Maria O’Brien (ENG)

Richard Veenstra (NED) 3 Vs 2 Nigel Heydon

Evening Session

Roger Janssen (BEL) 3 Vs 0 Wouter Vaes (NED)

Fallon Sherrock (ENG) 2 Vs 0 Corrine Hammond (AUS)

Mark McGrath (NZL) 3 Vs 0 Adam Smith-Neale (ENG)

Wayne Warren (WAL) 3 Vs 0 Mark Layton (WAL)

Monday 7th January

Afternoon Session

13:00 - David Cameron (CAN) Vs Andy Hamilton (ENG)

14:15 - Oliver Ferenc (SRB) Vs Ryan Hogarth (SCO)

15:30 - Willem Mandigers (NED) Vs Paul Hogan (ENG)

Evening Session

19:00 – Michael Unterbuchner (GER) Vs Justin Thompson (AUS)

20:15 – Anastasia Dobromyslova (RUS) vs Laura Turner (ENG)

20:45 – Jim Williams (WAL) Vs Roger Janssen

22:00 – Daniel Day (ENG) Vs Dean Reynolds (WAL)

Prev Next
Please wait...