Winmau Championship Tour - Weekend 4
The Final 2 winners are in with Adam Atkinson taking Event 7 and Daniel Lauby taking Event 8.

Winmau Championship Tour - Weekend 4

28 September, 2022

Adam Atkinson certainly had a weekend to remember at the final two Championship Tours in the Amateur Darts Circuit after winning event 7 before proceeding to win the Plate Knockout tournament on the Sunday, moving on to 1157 points in the rankings and closing the gap on number one Matt Jackson.

The Poolie beat Championship Tour 5 winner Adam Smith-Neale 6-1 in the Final, and the winning average is just an indication of how much quality the ADC has to offer, especially within the Championship Tours due to the level of professionalism in the setup and equipment used.

The ADC Number 2 averaged 103.43 in a Final that included five maximums, with three coming in favour of the man from Hartlepool. A ton plus checkout to break the throw in the fourth leg was one of several things that Atkinson did right across the action at the Thornbury Conference Centre, with a 112-finish breaking throw for a 4-0 lead.

The 27-year-old beat the likes of Mike Norton in the Quarter Finals, with the former Plate winner knocking out the Championship Tour leader Lee Budgen in the Last 16. He also recorded a victory against the ADC Number 15 Kevin Garcia, clinching a last leg decider 5-4 in Bristol.

An early exit to Michael Warburton on the Sunday in Championship Tour 8, was followed up by his second tournament victory of the weekend after Atkinson entered the Plate Tournament with the need for ranking points huge in his quest for the ADC Number 1 spot.

A win against former World Championship Finalist Mark Dudbridge 3-1 with an average of 88 ensured the ADC Number 2 left Bristol with a total of 257 ranking points going under 150 points away from the ADC Number 1.

Danny Lauby after playing the Modus Super Series all week made his first appearance at a Championship Tour event, winning Tour 8 in Bristol to earn himself £1000 after reaching the Grand Finale of the Modus Event on the Saturday.

The American thrower who has appeared at the World Cup of Darts for his country before, beat Lee Evans in the Final 6-3 averaging 92.12 and included an impressive 11 darter in the fifth leg to enter a 4-1 lead, finishing 50 in two darts.

The son of former player Dan Lauby also beat Championship Tour 5 runner up Simon Preston 5-1 in the Semi Finals in what was a very impressive debut for the 29-year-old. The Indiana born darting star has appeared at the last two World Championship at the Ally Pally most recently losing to Republic of Ireland star William O’Connor.

The field for the Grand Tour Finals has also been confirmed after the weekends play, with Lee Budgen finishing 2022 at the top of the Tour Table with one victory which came in Manchester at the start of August.

Matt Jackson failed to qualify for the Grand Finals in Bristol after a Last 16 exit on the Saturday to former European Title holder James Richardson, before another early exit in Event 8 to the ADC Number 16 Raymond Marshall meaning he finishes the year at 70th in the table as the top 64 secured their spots at Reading.

Adam Atkinson was the only player this year to win two separate Championship Tours, starting the year with a win at the Rainton Arena in winning Event 1 against the ADC Number 4 Tony Wood who also secures his spot in Berkshire next month.

Colin Osborne, Dan Read, Lloyd Pennell, Raymond Marshall and Phil Borthwick also finish within the Top 64 to qualify but for the likes of Harry Gregory, Kevin McDine and Luke Littler, they will have to wait for next year if they are to reach the Grand Finals.

A fantastic 8 Championship Tour events are now concluded and what drama we’ve had every single time, seeing seven different winners from eight events.

From personal experience speaking to these players, I have heard nothing, but good things and credit must be given to the likes of Scott Hunt and Steve Brown for staging these events, and the setups on show from darts manufacturer Winmau make all the difference in giving the display a more professional look which in my opinion plays such a big difference.

Onto Reading for the 22nd and 23rd of October with 64 players battling it out to claim victory next month and become the first winner of the Winmau Championship Tour Grand Finals.


ADC Winmau Championship Tour 7 Results:


Quarter Finals:


Adam Atkinson 5-3 Mike Norton

Kevin Garcia 5-3 Keelan Kay

James Richardson 5-2 Alex Long

Adam Smith-Neale 5-1 Jimmy Bristow


Semi Finals:


Adam Atkinson 5-4 Kevin Garcia

Adam Smith-Neale 5-4 James Richardson




Adam Atkinson 6-1 Adam Smith-Neale


ADC Winmau Championship Tour 8 Results:


Quarter Finals:


Michael Huntley 5-0 Dafydd Edwards

Lee Evans 5-3 Alex Long

Simon Preston 5-3 Adam Smith-Neale

Daniel Lauby 5-2 James Young


Semi Finals:


Lee Evans 5-3 Michael Huntley

Daniel Lauby 5-1 Simon Preston




Daniel Lauby 6-3 Lee Evans


ADC Rankings:


  1. Matt Jackson: 1301pts
  2. Adam Atkinson: 1157pts
  3. Steve Brown: 914pts
  4. Tony Wood: 743pts
  5. Adam Warner: 628pts
  6. Geoff Murray: 599pts
  7. Lloyd Pennell: 575pts
  8. Phil Borthwick: 545pts
  9. Lee Budgen: 527pts
  10. Graham Hall: 484pts
  11. Paul Nesbitt: 469pts
  12. David Williams: 449pts
  13. Kevin McDine: 447pts
  14. Adam Smith-Neale: 407pts
  15. Kevin Garcia: 396pts

Raymond Marshall: 391pts

Prev Next
Please wait...