Steve Beaton faces MvG in Landmark 20th Matchplay Appearance

Steve Beaton faces MvG in Landmark 20th Matchplay Appearance

11 July, 2019

"The Bronzed Adonis" Steve Beaton is set to face Michael van Gerwen in a staggering 20th appearance at the PDC World Matchplay next weekend.

After making his Matchplay debut in 1998, Steve has since qualified for every instance of the tournament since 2001 and has been drawn against World number 1 Michael van Gerwen this year.

It’ll be the third time the pairing has met in Blackpool and it promises to be a fantastic showdown. The ever-green Beaton has been on great form over the first half of the season, maintaining a 100% qualification record on the Euro Tour so far, culminating in a 9-dart finish in the German Darts Open, in April.

Danny Noppert will be making his Matchplay debut and will take on defending champion Gary Anderson in Round 1. The Dutch star has also tasted 9-dart success this year, hitting the perfect leg in the semi-final of Players Championship 5.

World no.3 Daryl Gurney will look to replicate the form that saw him reach the Matchplay semi-finals two years ago, Superchin takes on ‘Rapid’ Ricky Evans on Monday 22nd July

The Wizard of Oz, Simon Whitlock, comes into the Winter Gardens as 11th seed for this year’s tournament and will take on 2019 Premier League Contender John Henderson, whilst Mervyn King returns to Blackpool, facing UK Open winner Nathan Aspinall.

The tournament has the 2nd biggest ranking prize fund on the Professional circuit and takes place from 20th - 28th July.

2019 Betfred World Matchplay

Schedule of Play

Saturday July 20 (1900 BST)

First Round

Nathan Aspinall v Mervyn King

Gerwyn Price v Stephen Bunting

Gary Anderson v Danny Noppert

Rob Cross v Chris Dobey

Sunday July 21 (1300 BST)

First Round

Darren Webster v Krzysztof Ratajski

Dave Chisnall v Max Hopp

Ian White v Joe Cullen

Michael Smith v Jamie Hughes

Evening Session (1930 BST)

First Round

James Wade v Jeffrey de Zwaan

Mensur Suljovic v Jermaine Wattimena

Michael van Gerwen v Steve Beaton

Adrian Lewis v Glen Durrant

Monday July 22 (1900 BST)

First Round

Jonny Clayton v Keegan Brown

Simon Whitlock v John Henderson

Daryl Gurney v Ricky Evans

Peter Wright v Vincent van der Voort

Tuesday July 23 (1900 BST)

Second Round

Smith/Hughes v Chisnall/Hopp

Wade/De Zwaan v Suljovic/Wattimena

Anderson/Noppert v Aspinall/King

Van Gerwen/Beaton v Lewis/Durrant

Wednesday July 24 (1900 BST)

Second Round

Gurney/Evans v Clayton/Brown

Price/Bunting v White/Cullen

Cross/Dobey v Webster/Ratajski

Wright/Van der Voort v Whitlock/Henderson

Thursday July 25 (1900 BST)

Quarter-Finals x2

Friday July 26 (1900 BST)

Quarter-Finals x2

Saturday July 27 (1900 BST)


Sunday July 28 (1900 BST)



First Round - Best of 19 legs

Second Round - Best of 21 legs

Quarter-Finals - Best of 31 legs

Semi-Finals - Best of 33 legs

Final - Best of 35 legs

Full draw from the PDC available here.

Prev Next
Please wait...